Day 17- late update and another goal

Friday, 3.31.2017

Day 17 out of 33

So today will be a short update because I didn’t exactly fast today. I meant to but then I had a long and tedious shift in our local soup kitchen followed by me having to eat food otherwise I would’ve collapsed. Which I realized is important to emphasize: I do not want to collapse and I want to be able to eat out of my eating window every once in a while.

My goal is to reach a fitness level which is sustainable but also allows room for other things. For instance, I know sugar and fats are bad for you but I’d like to be able to indulge every once in a while without feeling terrible afterwards. Obviously I’d like to not relay on, say, dark chocolate all the time, but I’d like to be able to have a day every week where I just eat whatever I want, as long as it’s fairly nutritious, has a flavor I really enjoy and doesn’t have to be part of my fasting.

That was just some quick realness for you, dear reader, before I continue. On another front, I’m going to come into some fasting obstacles soon during my one-month trial period:

  • I’m not home for the 11th-13th of April, which means I won’t be posting and therefore I’ll try to hold myself accountable but I believe it might be harder.
  • We have family dinner tomorrow, so I’ll have to see what’s going on with that.
  • Wednesday I’m volunteering away from home for a whole day without a lunch break which means either freaking out the other volunteers and children we’re with by eating huge amounts of food or fasting even longer. I’ll make my decision soon.

I’ve been feeling a little low-energy these past couple of days, and hopefully that will change as my body adjusts to a new calorie deficit. If I don’t fall back into being energetic as usual, I might just go back to not calorie count. We’ll see.

That’s it for today. I don’t see much point in talking about food considering I didn’t really fast today (warning: it wasn’t pretty but most of it was pretty good), but still, I’ll upload my menu for tomorrow and see how that goes!

Onto the metrics and menu!

Leave a Reply

